Stop Press

Here are the titles of the special songs which the Monkees have recorded for their first major feature film.

Recording sessions of some of the numbers lasted longer than expected, which delayed Davy’s Easter trip to London.

  1. Rosemarie.
  2. Daddy’s Song.
  3. Through the Looking Glass.
  4. Do I Have To Do This All Over Again?
  5. Sound of Sunset, Sound of Sea.
  6. My Share of the Sidewalk.
  7. Lady’s Baby.

“Writing Wrongs” is the longest recording they have ever done—it plays for five minutes, six seconds. “Daddy’s Song” and “Do I Have To Do This All Over Again?” are two of the numbers which have been specially done for their first big film, so far called “Untitled”. Whether it will actually end up with that name is not known yet.

At press time, Davy was due to fly into London Airport around May 3rd for a three-week stay. Screen Gems have booked a special flat for him in central London where he will stay with his friend, David Pearl.

While he is over here, he is expected to make an appearance on one of Lulu’s television shows, but the date had not been fixed before his arrival.

Mike is due to arrive in London two weeks after Davy for a holiday visit. He told the Monkees Monthly: “I want to see the Byrds while I’m over there. I think they will go down real well in England.”

Mike has had a television camera installed high in a tree overlooking the front gate of his Hollywood home. It’s linked with monitors installed inside his house so that he can see exactly who is arriving and leaving.

His Radford Mini won two trophies at a car show recently which pleased Mike immensely as he chose all the colours and extras himself when he bought it in England.

Mike recently bought a pin-ball machine and an aquarium for his den so that his guests can either watch the fish or play the machine.

Micky has finally finished putting his gyrocopter together and is anxiously awaiting the end of the shooting of their film so he can take his air-car out into the desert and fly it. He says his regard for the lives and safety of his neighbours prevents him from testing it in Laurel Canyon.

Peter has been writing a lot of songs over the past few months and recently, he has been filming friends singing and playing his music. You would have thought he would have enough of filming with working on their film. But, he’s obviously a glutton for punishment.

The Monkees latest album, “The Birds, The Bees and The Monkees” was released on the Colgems label in the States in the middle of April. The titles are: Side One: “Dream World,” “Auntie’s Municipal Court,” “We Were Made For Each Other,” “Tapioca Tundra,” “Daydream Believer,” “Writing Wrongs.” Side Two: “I’ll Be Back Up On My Feet,” “The Poster,” “P.O. Box 9847,” “Magnolia Simms,” “Zor and Zam.”

Magazine: Monkees Monthly
Editor: Jackie Richmond
Issue: 16
Publisher: Monkees Monthly
Page: 19